Buckaroo Book Award

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Literacy Association, the Buckaroo Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades Kindergarten through third to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of these books. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades K-3: 

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors. 
  • Become aware of the qualities of good books. 
  • Accustom younger children to concepts of choice, critical reading, and voting procedures which will help them participate in choosing other book awards. 
  • To honor an author whose book has been enjoyed by Wyoming children.

 For more information contact the Buckaroo Book Award Committee.

 2022-2023 Buckaroo Award Winners

1st Runner-up
2nd Runner-up
Levis, Caron - This Way, Charlie
Gravel, Elisa - King of the Birds [Arlo & Pips #1]
Tabor, Corey - Snail Crossing

Past Winners and Nominees

2023-2024 Buckaroo Award Nominees

Blackall, Sophie - Farmhouse
Denise, Christopher - Knight Owl
Ferry, Beth - No Nibbling
Gubler, Matthew Gray - Rumple Buttercup
Idle, Molly Schaar - Witch Hazel
Kensky, Jessica - Rescue & Jessica: a Life-Changing Friendship
McKissack, Patricia C - What is Given From the Heart
Sorell, Traci - Powwow Day
Spencer, Sophia - Bug Girl
Stewart, Melissa - Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes & Stinker